Friday, April 23, 2010

SPEA to enroll graduate students through Vietnam Young Leader Awards program

April 22, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Fifteen students from Vietnam will enroll this fall in the Master of Public Affairs program at Indiana University Bloomington through a new program co-sponsored by the IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs and the Vietnamese Ministry of Education and Training.

The program, called Vietnam Young Leader Awards, will provide full scholarships for outstanding Vietnamese government employees. This marks the first time that Vietnam has taken part in a specific program to send young people to the United States for training in public policy. 

Read the full article:

Monday, April 19, 2010

Nobel laureate Elinor Ostrom to speak at IU Bloomington graduate commencement

Courtesy of Indiana University

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University faculty member Elinor Ostrom, the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economics, will address students receiving graduate degrees at the 2010 Indiana University Bloomington commencement ceremony.

The graduate commencement ceremony, for all post-baccalaureate degree candidates, will take place at 3 p.m. on Friday, May 7, at Assembly Hall. Separate ceremonies for students receiving undergraduate degrees will take place May 8.

"There could be no better person to address IU Bloomington students receiving graduate and professional degrees, as we honor their accomplishments and celebrate their promise for the future," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. "Lin Ostrom has been a prolific scholar and generous colleague through more than four decades at IU. She has also been a dedicated teacher and mentor, chairing or serving on dissertation and advisory committees for more than 130 Ph.D. students and taking a continued interest in their careers and scholarship."

Read more:

Two doctoral students among 2010 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients

The University Graduate School would like to congratulate Ryan Hallows and Renato de Souza Alvim - two IU Bloomington doctoral students from the College of Arts and Sciences - who received this year's Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards. Both students are from the Department of Spanish and Portuguese.

Initiated in 1961, the Lieber awards have been presented each year to outstanding teachers among the University’s graduate students who combine their programs of advanced study with instructional employment in their schools and departments.

Renato de Souza Alvim, IU Bloomington:

Ryan David Hallows, IU Bloomington: