Thursday, February 18, 2010

IU names 2010 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients

Distinguished Teaching Awards "honor our most exceptional faculty, their devotion to their students and their strong commitment to our fundamental missions of excellence in education and research."

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- "Students are the life blood of a great university," said Herman B Wells, who presided as president of Indiana University on Founders Day in 1961. "But to pump and move the blood, a great university must have great teachers."

Wells' observation still rings true.

As the university marks its founding 190 years ago this spring, President Michael A. McRobbie will present IU's Distinguished Teaching Awards in honor of Founders Day at a dinner on April 16. Sixteen faculty members and two doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indiana University Kokomo, Indiana University Northwest and Indiana University South Bend.

Read Full Article.

(IU News: 2/17/2010)